Search Resources

10 Results

View
Selected filters:
  • Opinion Writing
3rd Grade Opinion Writing Unit - Lesson 1: Fact or Opinion
Unrestricted Use
CC BY
Rating

Overview: Students will begin to explore opinion pieces by reviewing the difference between a fact and opinion.Building Into W.3.1: Write opinion pieces on topics or texts, supporting a point of view with reasons.Building Into: I can write opinion pieces and support my opinion with reasons.

Subject:
Elementary Education
English Language Arts
Composition and Rhetoric
Material Type:
Lesson Plan
Author:
Michelle Simpson
Date Added:
05/13/2020
3rd Grade Opinion Writing Unit - Lesson 2: Brainstorming Ideas
Unrestricted Use
CC BY
Rating

Overview: Students will brainstorm and then choose a topic for their opinion paper. Students will then brainstorm a list of reasons that support their topic.Building Into W.3.1: Write opinion pieces on topics or texts, supporting a point of view with reasons. (I can write opinion pieces and support my opinion with reasons.)W.3.1b: Provide reasons that support the opinion. (I can provide reasons that support the opinion.)

Subject:
Elementary Education
English Language Arts
Composition and Rhetoric
Material Type:
Lesson
Lesson Plan
Author:
Michelle Simpson
Date Added:
05/14/2020
3rd Grade Opinion Writing Unit - Lesson 3: Writing a Strong Opinion
Unrestricted Use
CC BY
Rating

Overview: Students will craft a strong opinion using the topic they chose on Day 2, the list of reasons they brainstormed on Day 2, and the stoplight model.W.3.1: Write opinion pieces on topics or texts, supporting a point of view with reasons. (I can write an opinion piece and support my opinion with reasons.)W.3.1a: Introduce the topic or text they are writing about, state an opinion, and create an organizational structure that lists reasons. (I can introduce a topic by stating an opinion and using an organizational structure to list reasons.)

Subject:
Elementary Education
English Language Arts
Composition and Rhetoric
Material Type:
Lesson
Lesson Plan
Author:
Michelle Simpson
Date Added:
05/14/2020
3rd Grade Opinion Writing Unit - Lesson 4: OREO Writing
Unrestricted Use
CC BY
Rating

Overview: Students will use the OREO strategy to outline their opinion paper. Outlines will include the students opinion statement, 3 reasons, and an example or detail for each reason.W.3.1: Write opinion pieces on topics or texts, supporting a point of view with reasons. (I can write an opinion and support my opinion with reasons.)W.3.1b: Provide reasons that support the opinion. (I can provide reasons tht support my opinion.)

Subject:
Elementary Education
English Language Arts
Composition and Rhetoric
Material Type:
Lesson
Lesson Plan
Author:
Michelle Simpson
Date Added:
05/14/2020
3rd Grade Opinion Writing Unit - Lesson 5: Writing a Hook
Unrestricted Use
CC BY
Rating

Overview: Students will write the introduction to their opinion paper. Students will choose a strategy to hook their reader and then rewrite their opinion statement as their introduction statement.W.3.1: Write opinion pieces on topics or texts, supporting a point of view with reasons. (I can write an opinion piece and support my opinion with reasons.)W.3.1a: Introduce the topic or text they are writing about, state an opinion, and create an organizational structure that lists reasons. (I can introduce a topic by stating an opinion and suing and organizational structure to list reasons.)

Subject:
Elementary Education
Material Type:
Lesson
Lesson Plan
Author:
Michelle Simpson
Date Added:
05/14/2020
3rd Grade Opinion Writing Unit - Lesson 6: Using Transition Words to Craft the Body
Unrestricted Use
CC BY
Rating

Overview: Students will write the body of their rough draft following their OREO prewriting page and transition words and phrases.W.3.1: Write opinion pieces on topics or texts, supporting a point of view with reasons. I can write opinion pieces and support my opinion with reasons.W.3.1b: Provide reasons that support the opinion. I can provide reasons that support the opinion.W.3.1c: Use linking words and phrases (eg. because, therefore, since, for example) to connect opinion and reason. I can use linking words and phrases to connect opinions and reasons.

Subject:
Elementary Education
English Language Arts
Composition and Rhetoric
Material Type:
Lesson
Lesson Plan
Author:
Michelle Simpson
Date Added:
05/28/2020
3rd Grade Opinion Writing Unit - Lesson 7: Writing a Conclusion
Unrestricted Use
CC BY
Rating

Overview: Students will finish drafting their rough drafts by adding a concluding statement.W.3.1: Write opinion pieces on topics or texts, supporting a point of view with reasons. I can write opinion pieces and support my opinion with reasons.W.3.1d: Provide a concluding statement or section. I can provide a concluding statement

Subject:
Elementary Education
English Language Arts
Composition and Rhetoric
Material Type:
Lesson
Lesson Plan
Author:
Michelle Simpson
Date Added:
05/28/2020
3rd Grade Opinion Writing Unit - Lesson 8: Focused Editing
Unrestricted Use
CC BY
Rating

Overview: Students will use COPS and the focused edit strategy to practice editing and then edit their opinion paper.W.3.1: Write opinion pieces on topics or texts, supporting a point of view with reasons. I can write opinion pieces and support my opinion with reasons.W.3.5: With guidance and support from peers and adults, develop and strengthen writing as needed by planning, revising, and editing. (Editing for conventions should demonstrate command of Language standards 1-3 up to and including grade 3 here.) I can develop and strenghten my writing by planning, revising, and editing with the help of my peers and an adult. 

Subject:
Elementary Education
English Language Arts
Composition and Rhetoric
Material Type:
Lesson
Lesson Plan
Author:
Michelle Simpson
Date Added:
05/28/2020
3rd Grade Opinion Writing Unit - Lesson 9: Focused Revising (and Editing)
Unrestricted Use
CC BY
Rating

Overview: Students will use a focused revising choice board to guide peer writing conferences. The teacher and students will use a focused revising choice board to guide teacher writing conferences.W.3.1: Write opinion pieces on topics or texts, supporting a point of view with reasons. I can write an opinion piece and support my opinion with reasons.W.3.5: With guidance and support from peers and adults, develop and strengthen writing as needed by planning, revising, and editing. (Editing for conventions should demonstrate command of Language standards 1-3 up to and including grade 3 here.) I can develop and strengthen my writing by planning, revising, and editing with the help of my peers and an adult.

Subject:
Elementary Education
English Language Arts
Composition and Rhetoric
Material Type:
Lesson Plan
Author:
Michelle Simpson
Date Added:
05/29/2020
3rd Grade Opinion Writing Unit Outline
Unrestricted Use
CC BY
Rating

This is the outline for a third grade writing unit on writing opinion (persuasive) papers. The lessons and materials are linked to the outline, but they also uploaded in a PDF format as sperate lessons in WISELearn. 

Subject:
Elementary Education
English Language Arts
Composition and Rhetoric
Material Type:
Lesson
Lesson Plan
Author:
Michelle Simpson
Date Added:
05/29/2020