Group Information

Group Title

Wisconsin Observance Days

Group Description

Wisconsin's 21 special observance days are part of state statutes governing general school operations (Wis. Stat. sec. 118.02). In addition, there are federal observances which are either designated by Congress in Title 36 of the United States Code (36 U.S.C. § 101 et seq.), or by presidential proclamation.

The links below will take you to resources for each specific Wisconsin observance day. The curated resources are from trusted partners such as universities, government agencies, and non-partisan non-profit organizations.

The resources often suggest the use of primary source documents and photographs to help students critically analyze people and events. The Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction encourages educators to recognize people and groups throughout the year and not just on their special day or month.

Observance days are listed in alphabetical order.

Group's Subject

  • Social Studies

Group's Levels

  • Preschool
  • Lower Primary
  • Upper Primary
  • Middle School
  • High School
  • Pre-kindergarten
  • Kindergarten
  • Grade 1
  • Grade 2
  • Grade 3
  • Grade 4
  • Grade 5
  • Grade 6
  • Grade 7
  • Grade 8
  • Grade 9
  • Grade 10
  • Grade 11
  • Grade 12

Group Type